screwing up

Installing drywall is tough enough without fighting gravity. The hall ceiling was just two pieces, so the job seemed manageable, but it still took all three of us on ladders, hoisting sheetrock above our heads.

We only have two full-sized ladders, so I got stuck on a kitchen stepstool, which was just short enough that I had to stand on my tiptoes to press the drywall in place. I tried to tense my whole body and imagine I was a pillar on the Parthanon, or Atlas, holding up the world. Only I felt considerably less than godlike.

Joe and I had to hold that position while my father-in-law (above) screwed the drywall into place. If we do any more ceilings in this house, I’m going to need to get to yoga more often.

4 responses to “screwing up

  1. Love the title of your article!! I’ve installed ceiling drywall that way! It is a total back killer. Last time we did it we swore we were going to get a drywall lift for the next round (I think you can rent that at the big home improvement stores rather than buying them – not sure). Sanding the mud was equally painful, and I’m not sure there’s a good “lift”-type solution for that, just pole sanding the ceiling 😦

    Anyhow, I’m sure it’ll look great when its done.

  2. Thanks! My back is killing me today. But it’s worth it because the hallway ceiling was truly horrific. The rest doesn’t look nearly so bad. I keep swearing that when this is all over (I know–ha!), I’ll treat myself to a manicure and massage.

  3. Tell Mr. C I like the beard, but to punch Joe for making it so gray.

  4. I know, can you tell the guy retired? Not that we give him any time to relax.

Leave a Reply

