happy thoughts

I was right—I feel better today. How can I complain when I get to shop? As satisfying as it is to vacuum insulation or mix cement or wire a circuit, none of that compares to buying something that’s already finished. You just open the box and there it is, looking beautiful. Case in point, my compost pail, which came Friday. It was the highlight of my weekend.

We’ve hit the point on our renovation checklist where all we have to do is buy stuff: shower doors, a hot water heater, wood floors, paint. I know I should wait to paint until I’ve got a rug or furniture or something to coordinate with, but it doesn’t look like we’ll be able to afford furniture anytime soon, and Labor Day is coming (yikes), so I’m feeling pressure to take advantage of the sales.

We’ve agreed (miracle of miracles) on gray in the bathroom, and we have the tile and granite now so I should be able to find a match. Belle wants purple for her room, and I’m thinking a pale sky blue for my office. I need to order paint samples, pronto. The heat is on.

Leave a Reply

