Lowe’s update

Judging from the response to my previous post, I’m not alone in my crappy experience with home improvement chains. Well, I am happy to report a possible ray of hope.

On Monday, I fired off a letter of complaint to Lowe’s online customer service, the first of my planned letter-writing onslaught. I didn’t think that would light much of a fire (do people really read those?), so I had the names and addresses of every member of their executive board ready to go. But before I could make my next move, I got a call.

Tom from Lowe’s handled things really nicely. He was sympathetic, he listened, and he apologized. He didn’t make me feel like some nutjob he was just trying to appease so he could go on break (I’ve worked retail, so I know the difference).

He also offered us a nice fat discount if we’d still take the doors, and promised delivery for this Monday. And because of the ordeal with the insulation rebate, he’s giving us an additional $50 gift card for our trouble.

I told him we’d give them one more shot so we’ll see if he comes through. I hope so, because Lowe’s is closer to Starbucks than the competition.

web-pink-lookout-gi1

4 responses to “Lowe’s update

  1. Lowes is the Idiot-Savant of stores.

    Most of the time, I feel like I am dealing with people who just can’t get a job anywhere else (I’m sure their mothers love them). I once actually suggested to the head manager that they terminate the assistant manager because she went to lunch in the middle of “helping” me. Then…

    I get shower unit delivered through their store, and the end is broken. I take it back and they don’t have a replacement in stock. The manager give me a more expensive unit – no additional charge. He said – I quote: “I don’t want your money, I wnat your business”. Yikes – I’ll buy all my special order stuff there from now on.

    I guess you have to wade through the low end of the low end of the gene pool to get to the good service.

  2. Glad to hear that there may be a silver lining to this whole business. I hope your doors come on Monday!

  3. On a side note, I still won’t buy from IKEA.

  4. Sooooo, did the doors arrive on Monday?

Leave a Reply

