over our heads

Sure, I had to buy him a boat to get it, but Joe let me order the office light fixture I wanted. In retrospect, I should have gone for a couch instead.

First I discovered missing and damaged parts, and had to wait a week while the replacement parts were mailed. Then we had to figure out the wiring. Once we actually began, it took us four hours to install it. Four hours of struggling against a recessed electrical box over my head (arms are still killing me), by candlelight.

And there’s still one problem. I’ve been going with CFL-compatible fixtures as we renovate. But unlike the others I’ve bought, this one has a significant delay, like three seconds, between when you flip the switch and when the light goes on. It’s driving me nuts. They make the same light in an incandescent version, and it’s cheaper, but thinking about un-installing it makes me want to cry.

So, what do you think?

web-pink-thisway-gi

3 responses to “over our heads

  1. Could it be the CFL bulb you are using, rather than the fixture that is causing the delay? I’ve heard the ones labeled “Energy Star” have a different kind of ballast that makes them turn on more quickly.

  2. PS: It’s a great light fixture!

  3. I’m definitely going to look into it–thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

