the dinner party

One of the main points of buying a house, to me anyway, was to finally be able to have guests over. We’ve been living here almost a year and it hasn’t happened yet. Granted, there are a few reasons for that.

1) We don’t have closet doors.

2) We don’t have much furniture, and the couch we do have looks like a giant cat scratching post.

3) The carpet has never been shampooed and I myself am fairly disgusted by it.

But given that it will only be in more of a shambles once we start phase II, I bit the bullet and issued invitations. Because I’m such an overachiever, one dinner party is not good enough for me so I’m having two. One for Joe’s parents, because they’ve been asking, and one for his brother and my sister-in-law, because they had us over years ago and have never seen our house.

His parents will be less nerve-wracking, because they’ve seen the place already. The toughest part will be figuring out a menu. My observation when we lived together was that they don’t like seafood or anything I cook.

But my brother- and sister-in-law are closer to our age and have a really cute house. So I need to pull out a few more stops. Better rent a steam cleaner.

Let the planning begin!

web-blue-grenade-gi

Leave a Reply

